fbpx

Decathlon Stilus Electric Mountain Bike Review

This post contains affiliate links, to find out more information, please read my affiliate disclosure

The New Stilus – The first Full Suspension Electric Mountain Bike from Decathlon

So, I’ve just finished writing a review of the Giant Stance E +2 and low and behold – Decathlon have just released a new full suspension electric mountain bike called the Stilus. This post is an overview as I have yet to get my hands on one for a full test, but as soon as I do, I will update this article.

***Before you read on it appears the Stilus is not available at present. Decathlon no longer list this model on their UK website. As soon as this model (or a replacement) becomes available, I will update this article

the new decathlon stilus full suspension electric mountain bike

Summary

At a first glance the Stilus looks to be excellent value for money when compared with the Giant Stance E +2 and the Voodoo Zobop E-Shimano.

I’m a big fan of Decathlon electric bikes, as I believe they offer decent specification ebikes at an affordable price. At a first glance, the Stilus looks like it is going to be a winner!

decathlon stilus full suspension electric mountain bike right hand side view

With a spec list that includes the 4th Generation Bosch CX  motor, 500Wh powertube battery, SRAM’s excellent Eagle SX 1 x 12 drivetrain, dropper seat post and Rockshox suspension, the list price of £2699.99 is excellent.

Electric Components

If you are familiar with the latest ebike technology, the 4th generation Bosch CX motor needs no introduction. It is lighter, and more efficient than the previous model, but still produces an impressive 75Nm of torque and 340% of pedal assist in full power mode.

 

bosch cx motor fitted to decathlon stilus electric mountain bike

Display

The Stilus uses the Bosch Purion display, which gives you all the important information like speed, battery range, trip function and assist levels. This display has been in use for a few years now and is generally considered reliable.

bosch purion display fitted to decathlon stilus electric bike

Battery

The Stilus uses the Bosch 500Wh (watt hour) PowerTube battery. This is neatly integrated into the frame and can be removed for safe storage. There is also the option to purchase the more powerful 625Wh battery from Bosch, if you require a greater battery range.

bosch powertube 625 battery

Bike Components

Decathlon have done well in this department. The component list on the Stilus is befitting of a more expensive full suss e-bike. With a full SRAM groupset (including Guide hydraulic brakes), Rockshox suspension front and rear, tubeless-ready rims and a dropper seat post.  This bike is very well kitted-out for the price.

Gearing

The Stilus uses the excellent SRAM Eagle SX 1 x 12 drivetrain, with an 11-50 rear cassette, and a 36t front chainring. The gear ratios on the rear cassette are: 11-13-15-17-19-22-25-28- 32-36-42-50 – this is excellent gearing on an e-bike at this price and will enable the rider to climb practically anything!

sram sx 11-50 12 speed rear cassette and deraileur

Brakes

Brakes are excellent quality SRAM guide hydraulic brakes with 4-piston calipers, and 200mm rotors front and rear.

Wheels and Tyres

The Stilus uses decent Sunringle Duroc 40 32h tubeless-ready rims with Boost thru-axles 12×148 (rear) and 15×110 (front) to increase strength and alloy hubs with sealed bearings. Tyres are Schwalbe Smart Sam 27.5″ x 2.8″ which are good all-rounders, although you may want to swap these out depending on the kind of riding you will be doing.

schwalbe smart sam tyres fitted to decathlon stilus

Suspension

Rockshox 35 front fork with an excellent 150mm of travel, the rear shock is a Rockshox Debonair which also has 150mm of travel.

rockshox debonair rear suspension on the decathlon stilus

Finishing Kit

All the finishing kit is Decathlon branded components. Decent quality stuff, nonetheless. A bonus feature that you don’t usually see on sub-£3000 e-MTB’s is a dropper seat post.

dropper seat post on the stilus electric bike

Frame

The frame looks nice at a glance, it is made from 6061 Alloy and has internal cable routing and integrated battery pack.

decathlon stilus frame geometry

Who is the Stilus aimed at?

With a specification like this, the Stilus electric mountain bike will suit anyone from a beginner to intermediate rider looking for a capable off-road machine at a reasonable price. With 150mm suspension travel front and rear, and full SRAM groupset, this will definitely win over a lot of potential first-time buyers over the competition.

Full suspension electric mountain bikes are never cheap, but from what I’ve seen so far of the bike and spec, the Stilus is going to be a front runner to win the crown of best value full suspension e-MTB.

Conclusion

I was thinking to myself a few days ago, it’s only a matter of time before Decathlon release a full suspension electric mountain bike. I knew it would be great value for money, and probably offer a specification usually found on e-MTB’s in a higher price bracket – it looks like they have met my expectations!

stilus full suspension electric mountain bike

Decathlon  have started to produce some excellent electric bikes, and having recently ridden and reviewed the Rockrider E-ST900, I was incredibly impressed not only with the bike itself, but the exceptional value for money.

My first impressions of the Stilus are it looks like another great value for money ebike from Decathlon, that has a specification far greater than its price tag would suggest.

There are very few full suspension electric mountain bikes available for under £3000, and I can see the Stilus being very popular. Not only is it the cheapest in it’s class, but it also boasts an excellent specification.

I’m going to try and get my hands on a Stilus in the next couple of weeks, so I can do a full review, and I’m fairly sure I won’t be disappointed.

Buy Now: Stilus Full Suspension Electric Mountain Bike UK
Buy Now: Stilus Electric Mountain Bike from Decathlon Netherlands
Compare the Stilus with other full suspension e-MTB’s >>HERE<<

The review ratings below are based on my first impressions of the bike and specification

Please follow and like us:

Decathlon Stilus Full Suspension Electric Mountain Bike

£2699.99
9

Value for Money

10.0/10

Performance

9.0/10

Battery Range

8.0/10

Pros

  • Bosch 4th Gen CX Motor
  • SRAM Eagle SX drivetrain
  • Excellent Value for Money

Cons

  • None as of yet

4 thoughts on “Decathlon Stilus Electric Mountain Bike Review

  • March 16, 2020 at 12:28 am
    Permalink

    Value for Money

    8

    Performance

    8

    Battery Range

    8

    Nice review, welcome more info as you have it. I have just ordered a UK one….Looking forwards to my first foray into E bikes.

    Reply
    • March 17, 2020 at 12:34 pm
      Permalink

      Hi Roger,
      I don’t think you’ll be disappointed, a friend of mine in Bristol has just received his, and first impressions are great. I’m still waiting on Decathlon to see if they can send me one to test out. I’ll keep you posted.

      Please feel free to leave a review here, once you receive yours and have taken it for a good spin.

      Cheers,
      Tony

      Reply
  • March 7, 2020 at 7:05 pm
    Permalink

    Perché sul sito decathlon il prezzo è di 3299 euro?

    Reply
    • March 10, 2020 at 9:28 am
      Permalink

      Ho appena controllato ed è più costoso della versione britannica, anche se le specifiche sembrano uguali. Potrebbe essere utile contattare il servizio clienti Decathlon Italia per scoprire perché esiste una tale differenza di prezzo.

      Saluti,
      Tony

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *